Follow Us

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Four ways for you to control your Google Privacy

Google's new privacy policy reportedly breaches privacy in Europe and the US - so what are you going to do about it?

Article comments

Last week, Google rolled out its new privacy policy, condensing into one more than 60 former privacy policies across Google products, such as Gmail, GChat, Picassa, Google+ and YouTube.

As part of the change, Google now shares the information it has about you among all of its services, creating one profile of you rather than separate logs for each Google service you use.

These changes have privacy experts concerned: The new policy reportedly breaches European law and 36 US attorneys general have said Google's changes are an invasion of privacy.

But there are steps you can take to ensure your information and online activity remain private, from editing your online search history to taking your GChat conversations offline. Here's what you need to know.

1. How to clear your YouTube browsing history

When you visit YouTube, while logged into your Google account, it keeps a record of the videos you view. To clear your YouTube viewing history, take the following steps:

First, sign into your Google Dashboard, home to most of your Google privacy settings. Scroll to the bottom and click "Sign into Dashboard," then enter your username and password.

From your dashboard, scroll to the bottom and select "Manage privacy settings" under the YouTube section. Then, click the link to your name in the top-right and find "History" from the scrolling menu on the left. Click it.

Visit both the "History" and "Search History" tabs to either clear all viewing and search history data, or to pause it.

2. How to remove web history and turn off search history personalisation

Google's search history personalisation bases your search results on your past search activity on Google. This means that if you recently searched for restaurants in San Francisco, then searched for car rental companies, Google is more likely to return results for rental companies in San Francisco.

To disable history-based search customizations while you're signed into your Google account, you need to remove all your Web history. (You can also choose to remove only individual items, as well as to pause your Web History.)

To do this, visit google.com/history and either select individual webpages to remove, or select "Remove all Web History." From here, you can also pause your Web history if you temporarily don't want Google to track the pages you're visiting.

3. How to Opt Out of Customised Ads

Google uses a cookie that it installs on your browser to store information about your searches and browsing habits, regardless of whether you've turned off or paused your Web history. You can view the categories it believes you're interested in, and the inferred demographics that Google has associated with your cookie, by logging in and visiting the Ads Preferences section on Google.

From that page, you can choose to remove incorrect categories or add new ones. Or, if you no longer want Google to associate interests and demographic categories with you, you can opt out of customized Google Display Network ads entirely.

From the Ads Preferences page, click "Opt out" on the left-side menu and click the blue "Opt out" button on the page that follows.

When you opt out, Google disables the cookie associated with your browser and extends your preference to third-party advertisers, too.

4. Log Out of Googe Accounts

While this isn't something you're able to do for every Google application, it does guarantee that Google isn't associating your activity with your account: Log out of your Google Account before you browse or search.

Here are some applications this will work for: Google Maps, Google search, YouTube and Google News. Do note that if you have not deleted your cookies, Google still could be tracking you even when you're logged out.


Share:

More from Techworld

More relevant IT news

Comments

Kylie Anne said: Good to know that people can still keep their online activities private Sometimes even on Facebook your contacts can see what you have read online or what you have been up to as activities can be seen on the news feed Anyway point 1 will definitely work for me



Send to a friend

Email this article to a friend or colleague:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the recipient know who sent the story, and in case of transmission error. Both your name and the recipient's name and address will not be used for any other purpose.

Techworld White Papers

Choose – and Choose Wisely – the Right MSP for Your SMB

End users need a technology partner that provides transparency, enables productivity, delivers...

Download Whitepaper

10 Effective Habits of Indispensable IT Departments

It’s no secret that responsibilities are growing while budgets continue to shrink. Download this...

Download Whitepaper

Gartner Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Information Archiving

Enterprise information archiving is contributing to organisational needs for e-discovery and...

Download Whitepaper

Advancing the state of virtualised backups

Dell Software’s vRanger is a veteran of the virtualisation specific backup market. It was the...

Download Whitepaper

Techworld UK - Technology - Business

Innovation, productivity, agility and profit

Watch this on demand webinar which explores IT innovation, managed print services and business agility.

Techworld Mobile Site

Access Techworld's content on the move

Get the latest news, product reviews and downloads on your mobile device with Techworld's mobile site.

Find out more...

From Wow to How : Making mobile and cloud work for you

On demand Biztech Briefing - Learn how to effectively deliver mobile work styles and cloud services together.

Watch now...

Site Map

* *